Sumpter  Township  Police  Department
HomeAbout UsAlerts/CommunityCrime Mapping & AlertsFees & FormsContact UsMemorialLinks

The Sumpter Township Police Department was founded in 1954 to provide law enforcement services to the citizens of Sumpter Township. Prior to that time responsibility was with the Wayne County Sheriff's Office and the Michigan State Police. The department's first Chief of Police was Terry Williams, Jr. 

Sumpter Township is a rural community of 9,549 residents in the southwest corner of Wayne County, midway between the urban areas of Ann Arbor and Detroit. It encompasses an area of approximately 37.5 square miles.

Sumpter Township was designated township 4 S in range 8 E of Wayne County. The original survey was approved on November 5, 1819. Federal land in Sumpter Township began to be sold to individuals by the 1830s, with one land patent to Arthur Fuller on April 4, 1833.

Sumpter Township was officially organized on April 6, 1840.

       Chief Eric Luke         
      Captain Patrick Gannon 
  Detective/ Lieutenant Joseph Balowski
 Detective/ Sergeant George Salajan, III
    Sergeant Beth Egerer
   Sergeant Brian Steffani 
Sergeant Bart Devos, Jr.
Sergeant Sean Hudson​
   Corporal Colleen Gottschalk
   Officer Christopher Herrick
      Officer Sean Hudson
   Officer Kenneth Toney
   Officer Jesiah Rodriguez
   Officer Gino Criscenti
      Officer Nicholas Johnson
Officer Nelson Hammons
Officer Kevin Gibson
Officer Chris Rose
Officer Larence McLendon
   Ordinance Officer Peter Gregory
   Ordinance Officer Kevin Scott
   Oper. Coord. Malissa Paquette
   Office Manager Sue Dufresne

Department Members

We are a Certified StormReady Community 
   through the National Weather Service
            (click the icon to learn more)